

SOUTHERN COUNTIES CYCLING UNION



1898 – 2018 PRESIDENT – JAN SOMMERFELD

Result of 26th Weekend of Sporting events

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their rules and regulations

Open 10 Miles Time Trial – Saturday 17th March 2018

Course G10/46

Qualifying event for : SPOCO South East (but register prior to event) and SCA SPOCO

Open 25 Miles Time Trial – Sunday 18th March 2018

Course G25/43 Qualifying event for : SCA SPOCO

Event Secretary: Robin Johnson

7 Gorselands, Billingshurst, West Sussex, RH14 9TT. Email: <u>mr_rjohnson@outlook.com</u> Tel: 01403 783368 (or 07733 132043 on day of event)

Open 10 miles Time Trial Saturday 18th March 2018

Course G10/46

Start:	Mike Labram	Crawley Whls.
Finish:	Kathy Collard-Berry	A3crg

Prizes					
1 st	MARK SMITH, CRAWLEY WHLS £30 + Champagne (value £30) 23:31	1 st Veteran (40-44)	Mark Smith, Crawley Whs, 23:31, Wine (value £5)		
2 nd	Pat Wright, Paceline RT, 23:33 £20 + Wine (value £5)	1 st Veteran (45-49)	lain Duncan, Crawley Whs.,27:58, Wine (value £5)		
3 rd	Lee Kennedy, Army CU, 25:33 £12 + Wine (value £5)	1 st Veteran (50-54)	-		
4 th	Christian Yates, E.Grinstead CC 27:54 £8 + Wine (value £5)	1 st Veteran (55-59)	Christian Yates, East Grinstead CC, 27:54, Wine (value £5)		
5 th	lain Duncan, Crawley Whls., 27:58 Wine (value £5)	1 st Veteran (60-64)	Robert Royston, Sydenham Whls., 29:25 Wine (value £5) Robin Johnson, Brighton Mitre CC, 38:22, Wine (value £5)		
		1 st Veteran (65-69)			
		1 st Veteran (70-74)	David Eccles, Redmon CC, 33:47, Wine (value £5)		
		1 st Veteran (75-79)	Mike Morley, Kingston Phoenix RC, 44:31, Wine (value £5).		
st Lady	Liz Saul, London Dynamo, 33:44 £15 + Wine (value £5)				
2 nd Lady 3 rd Lady	- -				
st Team	CRAWLEY WHLS> (Mark Smith, Iain Duncan + James Cheeseman, 1 20 46, £12 + Wine (value £5) each	1 st Juvenile	-		
nd Team	Kingston Phoenix RC, (Simon Trehearn, Alexander Kew + Peter Smith, 1 33 04 Wine (value £5) each				

Thanks to all the willing marshals: Alun Millard (Charlotteville CC), Colin Derrick (South Eastern RC), Dave Adams (Norwood Paragon CC) and pusher-off, Bob Stapley, Epsom CC, recorder Ken Phillips (Morden CRC) and two tea ladies, Betty Labram and LJ (Lesley Jane).

Result of Open 10 miles Time Trial Saturday 17th March 2018 Course G10/46

Position	Name	Name	Club	Time
1	Mark	Smith	Crawley Whs.	00:23:31
2	Pat	Wright	Paceline RT	00:23:33
3	Lee	Kennedy	Army CU	00:25:33
4	Christian	Yates	East Grinstead CC	00:27:54
5	lain	Duncan	Crawley Whs.	00:27:58
6	Simon	Trehearn	Kingston Phoenix RC	00:27:59
7	Shaun	Marlor	Bec CC	00:28:13
8	Mark	Wright	VC Godalming + Haslemere	00:28:17
9	James	Cheeseman	Crawley Whs.	00:29:17
10	Robert	Royston	Sydenham Whs.	00:29:25
11	Alexander	Kew	Kingston Phoenix RC	00:29:49
12	Jack	Smith	Brighton Mitre CC	00:30:55
13	Tom	Pemberton	New Malden Velo	00:32:02
14	Stephen	Allport	Bec CC	00:32:05
15	Christopher	Rosam	Epsom CC	00:33:24
16	Gary	Boyd	Hub Velo	00:33:28
17	Liz	Saul	London Dynamo	00:33:44
18	David	Eccles	Redmon CC	00:33:47
19	James	Bromley	Becontree Whs. CC	00:34:51
20	Peter	Smith	Kingston Phoenix RC	00:35:16
21	Robin	Johnson	Brighton Mitre CC	00:38:22
22	Mike	Morley	Kingston Phoenix RC	00:44:31

D.N.S. nos. 3, 5, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 29, 30, 32, 34, 35, 36, 38, 39, 41, 42, 43, 45, 47, 48, 49, 51, 54, 55, 56, 57, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, many of whom sent apologies, for which my thanks – you missed an event where 22 riders are still suffering recurring nightmares.

Result of Open 25 miles Time Trial Sunday 18th March 2018

Course G25/43

TIMEKEEPERS	EVENT NOT HELD – SNOW.		
Start:	Mick Irons	Worthing Excelsior CC	
Finish:	Kathy Collard-Berry	A3crg	

www.sccu.co.uk

A personal message from the Committee of the SOUTHERN COUNTIES CYCLING UNION Founded 1898

Thank you for entering this Southern Counties Cycling promotion. If you are a member of an affiliated club we would like to draw your attention to the trophies that the SCCU owns and annually awards. You and your club mates can compete for these in events that are held throughout the racing season.

All SCCU events count for trophies, and where applicable the South Eastern RC Open 10.

Season long awards:

Mens' individual BAR (Claud Butler Trophy) based on the best average speed at 25, 50 and 100 miles. Team BAR (Amateur Cup) best of three (men or women) from any one club.

Veterans' BAR (John Smith Cup) (men and women) based on VTTA standards.

Womens' BAR (Fleming Cup) based on the best average speed at 10, 25 and 50 miles.

Junior BAR Coronation Cup) based on the best average speed at 10 and 25 miles.

Rawson Shield awarded annually to club with the hightest number of entrants in SCCU road promotions.

Specific awards:

Fountain Cup - fastest SCCU member in a Union promoted 25 miles TT.

Robin Marsh Trophy - fastest SCCU junior in a SCCU 25.

Vice-Presidents' Tankard - fastest SCCU member in the Union's Open 50 miles TT.

Roberts Shield - best team of three SCCU members in the Union's Open 50 miles TT.

Tacagni Cup - fastest SCCU member in Open 50 not previously having beaten 1:03:00, 2:10:00, 4:30:00

Syd Gray Shield - best team of three SCCU members in the Union's Open 100 miles TT.

Dunlop Cup - overall winner from an affiliated club of the 10 & 25 Spring Sporting TT's.

Bill Diplo Trophy - fastest SCCU member in the early season Sporting 21 miles TT.



DUNLOP CUP

The trophy was originally won by Alick Bevan, Fountain CC, in 1938. The two Spring Sporting time trials have been promoted by Robin Johnson since 1993 and the trophy goes to the overall winner



THE RAWSON SHIELD Awarded to the club with the highest number of ENTRANTS in the season's SCCU road events

The SCCU is grateful for the continuing support of you and your club, without which it would be impossible to promote events like this one.