

Sussex Cyclists' Association



ESTABLISHED 1921

Event Report



....a3crg Middle Markers 25

Monday 14 July 2014

This overflow event has a qualifying time of 57 minutes or more. Well ten riders improved upon that time on the night.

The weather was not quite as favourable as the June event, being dark and windy. But that didn't stop riders looking to improve their times on the popular P885/25 course.

The standout ride came from Michael Stafford (Portsmouth North End CC) with a 53:43, thus improving on his best of 57:26. Very close behind him was Matt Kuwertz (Southborough & District Wheelers) with a 53:50. Matthew Trott (Kingston Wheelers CC) completed the podium places with a 55:06, improving from his prior best of 57:32.

The team prize was keenly contested with only 48 seconds covering the top three places. The podium positions here were:

- 1. Blazing Saddles (Dominic Chapman, Jason Burkinshaw, Rob Charles)
- 2. Kingston Wheelers (Matthew Trott, Adam Bidwell, Matthew Whitaker)
- 3. Worthing Excelsior (Trevor Leeding, Mike O'Gorman, Mark Newnham)

Fastest lady was Alice Lethbridge (Kingston Wheelers) with a 58:51

Len Benton (Colchester Rovers CC) took the Vets prize.

Finally, a special mention must go to David Collard-Berry and the whole of his a3crg organisational team. What a superbly run event, even down to a marshall with a red flag helping to keep things safe.

Results of ...a3crg Middle Markers 25 mile tt P885/25 (A3) ~ Rake ~ Petersfield ~ Liphook Hampshire Held on Monday 14th July 2014

(Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations)

Pos	Rider	Team / Club	Cat	MPH	Actual
1	Michael Stafford	Portsmouth North End CC	Sen	27.92	00:53:43
2	Matt Kuwertz	Southborough & District Wheelers	Sen	27.86	00:53:50
3	Matthew Trott	Kingston Wheelers	Sen	27.22	00:55:06
4=	Trevor Leeding	Worthing Excelsior	Vet	26.94	00:55:41
4=	Dominic Chapman	Blazing Saddles Cycles Ltd	Vet	26.94	00:55:41
6	Jason Burkinshaw	Blazing Saddles Cycles Ltd	Vet	26.79	00:55:59
7	Keith Lea	Addiscombe CC	Vet	26.73	00:56:07
8	Steven Pink	CC Weymouth	Sen	26.50	00:56:36
9	Paul Blackmore	East Grinstead CC	Vet	26.39	00:56:51
10	Stuart Peckham	New Forest CC	Vet	26.36	00:56:54
11	Mike O'Gorman	Worthing Excelsior	Vet	26.24	00:57:10
12	Warren Peters	a3crg	Vet	26.19	00:57:16
13	David French	Weybridge Wheelers	Vet	26.16	00:57:20
14=	Andy Tedd	a3crg	Vet	26.15	00:57:22
14=	Graham Giggs	Bath Road Club	Sen	26.15	00:57:22
16	Gawain Young	Sotonia CC	Vet	26.14	00:57:23
17	Adam Bidwell	Kingston Wheelers	Sen	26.06	00:57:34
18	Simon Holder	PBscience.com	Sen	25.96	00:57:47
19	Sam Clarke	Charlotteville CC	Sen	25.90	00:57:55
20	Matthew Whitaker	Kingston Wheelers	Vet	25.80	00:58:09
21	Drew Hosie	a3crg	Vet	25.79	00:58:10
22	David Butt	CC Weymouth	Vet	25.74	00:58:16
23	Mark Newnham	Worthing Excelsior	Sen	25.71	00:58:21
24	Jon Saunders	Charlotteville CC	Esp	25.65	00:58:29
25	Alan Clark	Viceroys Triathlon Club	Vet	25.63	00:58:32
26	Phillip Chinn	Fareham Wheelers	Vet	25.59	00:58:37
27	Rob Charles	Blazing Saddles Cycles Ltd	Vet	25.54	00:58:44
28	Alan Emmott	Fareham Wheelers	Vet	25.52	00:58:47
29=	Alice Lethbridge	Kingston Wheelers	WS	25.49	00:58:51
29=	Jon Hughes	i-Ride.co.uk	Vet	25.49	00:58:51
31	Joel Garner	a3crg	Vet	25.47	00:58:54
32	Roberto Luff	Bossard Wheelers	Vet	25.45	00:58:57
33	Paul Tunnell	Addiscombe CC	Vet	25.19	00:59:33
34	Arthur Venables	a3crg	Jun	25.15	00:59:38
35	Michael Turner	Lewes Wanderers CC	Vet	25.13	00:59:42

36	Michael Gowan	Festival Road Club	Vet	25.04	00:59:55
37	Tim Day	Born to Bike	Vet	25.01	00:59:58
38	Rachel Clay	a3crg	WS	24.98	01:00:03
39	Mike Marchant	Southdown Velo	Vet	24.95	01:00:08
40	Reade Harfield	Blazing Saddles Cycles Ltd	Vet	24.90	01:00:14
41	Philip Evans	Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers	Vet	24.88	01:00:18
42	Charlotte Saunders	Viceroys Triathlon Club	WS	24.71	01:00:42
43	Sam Day	CS Grupetto	Vet	24.71	01:00:43
44	Derek Dowden	Charlotteville CC	Vet	24.62	01:00:56
45	Richard Blake	Antelope RT	Vet	24.59	01:01:00
46=	John Maund	VC Elan	Vet	24.58	01:01:01
46=	James Chapman	a3crg	Sen	24.58	01:01:01
48=	Alan Miles	Redhill CC	Sen	24.56	01:01:05
48=	Frank Proud	Westerley CC	Vet	24.56	01:01:05*
50	Len Benton	Colchester Rovers CC	Vet	24.55	01:01:06
51	Amy-Jo Clarke	Charlotteville CC	WS	24.52	01:01:11
52	Colin White	Bournemouth Jubilee Whs	Vet	24.37	01:01:33
53	Dan Bather	a3crg	Sen	24.18	01:02:02
54	Jon Frost	Redmon CC	Vet	24.12	01:02:12
55	Keith Clarke	Colchester Rovers CC	Vet	24.01	01:02:29
56	Ade Fadero	Sussex Nomads CC	Vet	23.94	01:02:40
57	Sarah Matthews	a3crg	WV	23.49	01:03:52
58	Allan Renyard	Guernsey Velo Club	Vet	23.44	01:04:00
59	David Welling	Farnham Road Club	Vet	23.37	01:04:11
60	Matthew Golden	a3crg	Esp	23.20	01:04:40
61	Simon Craig-McFeely	a3crg	Vet	23.18	01:04:42
62	Jill Bartlett	Hounslow & District Wheelers	WV	22.75	01:05:57
63	Ken Rayson	a3crg	Vet	22.15	01:07:44

* Includes Two Minute Late Start

Non Classified Riders

No	Rider	Team / Club	
18	Joanna Wells	Hounslow & District Wheelers	DNF- CBA
52	James Shaw	a3crg	DNF- Mechanical
4	Graham Lenton	New Forest CC	DNS Apols
8	Neil Pugh	VC10	DNS Apols
9	Keith Webster	VC Godalming & Haslemere	DNS Apols
13	Mike Logue	Fairly United CT	DNS Apols
14	Claire Leonard	Brighton Mitre CC	DNS Apols
15	Ray Sullivan	Redhill CC	DNS Apols
16	Lesley Wilkinson	Addiscombe CC	DNS Apols
17	David Rich	Fareham Wheelers	DNS Apols
19	Gina McGeever	Brighton Mitre CC	DNS Apols
25	Jasmijn Muller	Kingston Wheelers	DNS Apols

29	Andrew Green	Addiscombe CC	DNS Apols
42	James Horan	South Downs Bikes	DNS Apols
65	Tony Day	Bigfoot CC	DNS Apols
69	Lawrence Down	Bournemouth Jubilee Whs	DNS Apols

Team	No	Riders	Actual Time	Running Time
Blazing Saddles Cycles Ltd	66	Dominic Chapman	00:55:41	00:55:41
	71	Jason Burkinshaw	00:55:59	01:51:40
	3	Rob Charles	00:58:44	02:50:24
Kingston Wheelers	64	Matthew Trott	00:55:06	00:55:06
	54	Adam Bidwell	00:57:34	01:52:40
	81	Matthew Whitaker	00:58:09	02:50:49
Worthing Excelsior	48	Trevor Leeding	00:55:41	00:55:41
	36	Mike O'Gorman	00:57:10	01:52:51
	7	Mark Newnham	00:58:21	02:51:12