

Sussex Cyclists' Association

SUSSESS CHARLES OF THE PARTY OF

ESTABLISHED 1921

Event Report



South Eastern Road Club 10

Saturday 5 July 2014

Christian Yates (East Grinstead CC) wins in a much depleted field

Very poor conditions with lashing rain and blustery winds meant that there were almost as many opting not to start as those who did decide to brave the elements.

As it turned out the weather eased slightly just before the start although the roundabouts remained treacherous and one rider did come to grief with his back wheel slipping from under him.

The big holes in the start list gave the start officials quite a few quiet periods. However the riders did their best to keep them alert. One turned up at the start line with the wrong number affixed. One even turned up with his number affixed back to front, thus hiding the number completely - surely a first!

Christian Yates was the fastest on the day with a 21:26 well ahead of the second placed rider.

Helen Bullimore (Train Sharp RT) was the fastest lady on 25:28.

Dave Warne (Old Portlians) took the main Vets prize - the Lou Smith Salver and the Old Members Trophy.

Kingston Phoenix took the prize for the fastest team of 2 Vets on standard.

South Eastern Road Club

Lou Smith Memorial 10

Held on 5th July 2014 Result

Prize Winners

Fastest On Scratch	Christian Yates	East Grinstead CC	21.26	£25.00
2nd on Scratch	Damien Poulter	Hounslow & District Wh	22.20	£20.00
				£22.00 plus Old Members
1st on CTT target				Trophy and Lou Smith
time	Dave Warne	Old Portlians CC	.6.00	Salver
2nd	Mike O'Gorman	Worthing Excelsior CC	.5.58	£20.00
3rd	John Woodburn	VC Meudon	.5.49	£18.00
4th	Marcus Edwards	Kingston Phoenix CC	.4.41	£15.00
5th	Jonathan Thomas	Epsom CC	.4.25	£12.00
6th	Paul Tunnell	Addiscombe CC	.4.03	£10.00
Fastest Lady Rider	Helen Bullimore	Train Sharp	25.28	£15.00
Team on Age				
Standard	Kingston Phoenix RC			
Marcus Edwards			4.41	£15.00
Mike Morley			4.01	£15.00
			8.42	

Rider information. The age standards are calculated by using the CTT Target time tables.

One prize per rider except team winners.

Chief timekeeper Mrs. L. Donington

Assistant timekeeper Mr.F.Cubis

	Result of South Eastern RC 10 mile TT 5th July 2014								
No	Pos	Name	Club	Cat	Act Time		A/S +/-	A/S pos	
	1	Christian Yates	East Grinstead CC	V	00:21:26		05:40	4	
	2	Damian Poulter	Hounslow & District Whs	V	00:22:10		02:50	10	
	3	Marcus Edwards	Kingston Phoenix RC	V	00:22:13		04:41	5	
	4	Carl Ferri	Cadence Performance Cycles	V	00:22:20		03:25	9	
	5	Lee Russel	VC Harry Perry Cycles	S	00:22:30				
	6	Dave Warne	Old Portlians CC	V	00:22:31		06:00	1	
	7	Richard Tully	Elite Cycling	S	00:22:45				
	8	Jonathan Thomas	Epsom CC	V	00:23:05		04:25	6	
	9	Mike O'Gorman	Worthing Excelsior CC	V	00:23:24		05:58	2	
	10	Paul Tunnell	Addiscombe CC	V	00:23:27		04:03	7	
-	11	Martin Sanwell	In-Gear		00:23:32		01:28	15	
	12	Sam Dix	In-Gear	V	00:23:41		01:52	14	
	13	Alex Kew	Kingston Phoenix RC	V	00:24:45		00:48	19	
	14	David Haggart	De Laune CC	V	00:25:20		02:10	13	
	15	Helen Bullimore	Train Sharp RT	LV	00:25:28		01:26	16	
	16	Ulrike von Saldern	Dulwich Paragon CC	LV	00:25:30		01:12	.17.	
	17	Oliver Walker	South Eastern RC	S	00:25:50				
	18	Jackie Dodd	Kingston Phoenix RC	LV	00:26:09		02:48	11	
	18	David Phillips	Old Portlians CC	V	00:26:09		02:35	12	
	20	Robert Royal-Evatt	Addiscombe CC	V	00:26:17		-00:10.	19	
	21	Steve Avery	Old Portlians CC	V	00:26:49		01:05	18	
	22	John Woodburn	VC Meudon	V	00:26:58		05:49	3	
	23	Mike Morley	Kingston Phoenix RC	V	00:27:35		04:01	8	
	24	Simon Waller	Kingston Phoenix RC	S	00:29:46				

A hearty thanks to everyone who supported this promotion. An even bigger thank you to all those riders who actually faced the timekeeper. Fortunately conditions did improve considerably by the time the first rider departed. For many, a soggy bum was a small price to pay for a season's or in some cases a personal best.

Found seeking asylum at the HQ, one small rain jacket. Please contact me for it's safe return.

Gone walk about, one mid blue Nike shirt if anyone has any info that will lead to its recovery please let me know.

Result of South Eastern RC 10 mile TT 5th July 2014						
No	Name	Club				
	Peter Baker	Lewes Wanderers CC	V	DNS		
	Andrew Dixon	Wigmore CC	٧	DNS		
	Keith White	Epsom CC	٧	DNS		
	Matt Singer	34 Nomads CC	٧	DNS (A)		
	Ken Williams	Kingston Phoenix RC	٧	DNS(A)		
	Michael Coyle	Brighton Mitre CC	٧	DNS		
	Colin Gray	Norwood Paragon CC	٧	DNS(A)		
	Paul Cannon	Epsom CC	٧	DNS		
	Barry Packman	Dorking CC	٧	DNS		
	Ade Fadero	Sussex Nomads CC	V	DNS(A)		
	Michael Gibbons	South Eastern RC	V	DNF		
	Anthony Draper	34 Nomads CC	٧	DNS		
	Alan Robinson	Central Sussex CC	٧	DNS		
	Matthew Woods	Eastbourne Rovers CC	٧	DNS(A)		
	David Smith	VC de Londres	S	DNS		
	Brian Molloy	Brighton Excelsior CC	٧	DNS		
	Adrian Hoyle	Brighton Excelsior CC	٧	DNS		
	Richard Payn	34 Nomads CC	٧	DNS		
	Colin Crocker	Sotonia CC	٧	DNS		
	Philip Burgin	Kingston Phoenix RC	٧	DNS		
	Carl Richardson	In-Gear	٧	DNS		
	Michael Rice	De Laune CC	٧	DNS		
	Paul King	Old Portlians CC	٧	DNS		
	Nick Gasson	34 Nomads CC	S	DNS		

Sponsored Club Acknowledgements

34th Nomads CC Gem Hygiene

In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp

Last but not least. Thanks to all the marshals, timekeepers and refreshment providers for without

You this event would not have happened.