

# **Sussex Cyclists' Association**

NSSER COOKER SEE SEE

**ESTABLISHED 1921** 

# **Event Report**



Horsham Cycling 10

Saturday 28 June 2014

Conall Yates (In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT) wins with a 20:18

Nice conditions for this event with light winds. Heavy rain was forecast but fortunately held off until shortly afterwards.

A national age record for 10 miles was set by the remarkable Ray Dare of Kingston Phoenix RC. At the age of 88 (yes, you did read that correctly) he recorded a 27:57 which gave him a plus of +7:38. He was understandably delighted with this as it completes his set of 10/25/50 records.

As for the main event another seven riders went under 22 minutes. Tamar Vanderhaas (Lewes Wanderers CC) was the fastest lady on 23:46.

In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT won the team award with a combined time of 1:04:58, beating East Grinstead (1:06:22) into second place.



# 10 Mile Open Time Trial for Bicycles

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations

28 June 2014

**Course G10/57** 

#### **Prize Winners List**

#### **Actual Time**

1 <sup>st</sup>	Conall Yates	In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT	20mins 18secs	£40.00
2 <sup>nd</sup>	James Stratton	London Dynamo	20mins 22secs	£30.00
3 <sup>rd</sup>	lain Brogden	Eastbourne Rovers CC	20mins 38secs	£20.00

#### Veterans on Actual Time v VTTA 10miles Standard

1 <sup>st</sup>	Ray Dare	Kingston Phoenix RC	VTTA Std. 35m.35s	Plus +7m 38s	£30.00
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Christian Yates	East Grinstead CC	26m 50s	+6m 10s	£20.00
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Alan Robinson	Central Sussex CC	29m 39s	+5m 37s	£15.00

Ray Dare won this category on his 88<sup>th</sup> birthday, and his time is a new national VTTA 10miles record for his age by 39seconds; our congratulations to him.

#### **Fastest Lady**

1 <sup>51</sup> 7	Tamar Vanderhass	Lewes Wanderers CC	23mins 46secs	£20.00

#### **Fastest Team of Three**

1<sup>st</sup> In-Gear Quickvit

Trainsharp RT Three rider aggregate 1hr 04mins 59secs £30.00

Counters: Conall Yates 20mins 18secs Simon Church 21mins 59secs

Sam Dix 22mins 41secs

Timekeepers: Start: Peter Delve Finish: Richard Blackmore

Horsham Cycling East Grinstead CC

Notes:

Horsham Cycling extends its thanks to the timekeepers, marshals, holder-uppers, checkers, finish area and HQ result team, sign board erectors and dismantlers and catering staff for another successful Open event.

We hope that all riders and others had a safe trip home and we look forward to welcoming you to our next open promotion in 2015, details from the 2015 CTT Handbook when available.

Stewart Forbes; 21 Fenby Close, Horsham, West Sussex, RH13 6RP Tel: 01403 756271



## Horsham Cycling Open 10 miles Time Trial

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations

28 June 2014 Course G10/57

Result - Individuals						
Number	Position	Name	Club	Time	VTTA Standard (2014)	Vet + or -
60	1	Conall Yates	In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT	20.18		
40	2	James Stratton	London Dynamo	20.22	26.13	+5.51
50	3	lain Brogden	Eastbourne Rovers CC	20.38	26.23	+5.45
20	4	Christian Yates	East Grinstead CC	20.40	26.50	+6.10
30	5	Brian Molloy	Brighton Excelsior	21.26	26.27	+5.01
10	6	Richard Weatherstone	GS Stella	21.53	26.32	+4.39
11	7	Michael Rice	De Laune CC	21.58	26.36	+4.38
46	8	Simon Church	In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT	21.59	26.36	+4.37
22	9	Paul Blackmore	East Grinstead CC	22.07	26.36	+4.29
51	10	Yuriy Tymchenko	Sussex Nomads CC	22.19	26.18	+3.59
57	11	Lee Russell	VC Elan	22.23		
35	12	Richard Vaudin	Redmon CC	22.27	26.32	+4.05
45	13	Michael Porter	34 Nomads CC	22.30	26.32	+4.02
15	14	Richard Miles	Bognor Regis CC	22.32	27.20	+4.48
32	15	Andrew Dixon	Wigmore CC	22.34	27.09	+4.35
47	16	Paul Thatcher	Brighton Mitre CC	22.40	26.50	+4.10
21	17	Chris Batch	Norwood Paragon	22.41	27.20	+4.39
36	18	Sam Dix	In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT	22.41	26.13	+3.32
31	19	Jon Fry	Horsham Cycling	22.47	26.13	+3.26
55	20	Mike O'Gorman	Worthing Excelsior CC	22.48	27.51	+5.03
41	21	Keith Shuttlewood	Horsham Cycling	22.49	27.14	+4.25
33	22	Martin Sanwell	In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT	23.05	25.59	+2.54
59	23	Owen Marks	Cranleigh Cycling Club	23.07	25.59	+2.52
12	24	Timothy Peters	Horsham Cycling	23.13	26.04	+2.51
56	25	Emin Akbay	Horsham Cycling	23.15		
38	26	Glenn Karpeta	Oxted Cycle Club	23.24	26.50	+3.26
24	27	Theo Yates	In Gear Quickvit-Trainsharp	23.27		
48	28	Paul Winkley	East Grinstead CC	23.35	27.20	+3.45
16	29	Geoff Smith	Eastbourne Rovers	23.42	28.06	+4.24
42	30	Miss Tamar Vanderhass	Lewes Wanderers CC	23.46		
37	31	Ben Crick	East Grinstead CC	23.47	26.41	+2.54
52	32	Paul King	Old Portlians CC	23.52	26.50	+2.58
43	33	Alan Robinson	Central Sussex CC	24.02	29.39	+5.37
44	34	Andrew Green	Old Portlians CC	24.40	26.36	+1.56
18	35	Kevin Toogood	Medway Velo Club	24.52		
23	36	Colin Crocker	Sotonia CC	24.56	28.06	+3.10
49	37	Mrs Katherine Barrett	East Grinstead Tri Club	25.34		
13	38	Keith White	Epsom CC	25.48	28.52	+3.04
28	39	Michael Gibbons	South Eastern RC	26.10	28.52	+2.42
14	40	Michael Daniels	Southborough Wheelers	26.43	31.17	+4.34



## Horsham Cycling Open 10 miles Time Trial

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations

28 June 2014 Course G10/57

	Result - Individuals						
Number	Position	Name	Club	Time	VTTA Standard (2014)	Vet + or -	
34	41	Alan Walker	South Eastern Road Club	27.29	28.23	+0.54	
54	42	Ray Dare	Kingston Phoenix RC	27.57	35.35	+7.38	
39	43	Miss Selena Bartley	Sussex Nomads CC	28.29	28.08	-0.21	
29	44	Mrs Catherine Humm	Oxted Cycle Club	29.33			
9		Brian Flint	Horsham Cycling	DNS	29.26		
17		Hugh Pelling	Old Portlians CC	DNS	26.45		
19		Peter Doherty	South Western Road Club	DNS	26.32		
25		Andrew Macpherson	4T+ Velo Club	DNS			
26		Sam Day	CS Grupetto	DNS	25.59		
27		Tony Murphy	Eastbourne Rovers CC	DNS	26.45		
53		Miss Emma Richards	Eastbourne Rovers CC	DNS			
58		David Le Petit	London Dynamo	DNS	25.59		

#### Result - Teams

Position	Numbers	Name	Club	Time	Best 3 Aggregate	
	24	Theo Yates		23.27		
	33	Martin Sandwell		23:05		
1st	36	Sam Dix	In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT		1;04;59	
	46	Simon Church		21.59		
	60	Conall Yates		20.18		
	20	Christian Yates		20.40	1;06;22	
2nd	22	Paul Blackmore	East Grinstead CC	22.07		
ZIIU	37	Ben Crick	Last Gillistead CC	23.47		
	48	Paul Winkley		23.35		
	9	Brian Flint		DNS		
	12	Timothy Peters		23.13		
3rd	31	Jon Fry	Horsham Cycling	22.47	1;08;49	
	41	Keith Shuttlewood		22.49		
	56	Emin Akbay	1	23:45		

No other clubs finished 3 riders.