

Sussex Cyclists' Association



ESTABLISHED 1921

Event Report



Brighton Mitre Multi 10 (Flat and Hilly)

Monday 31 May 2010

Tadros and Dwyer claim the top spots on a packed May Day event. Fresh from his win at the Rovers 10 on Saturday, Pete Tadros (In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp) joined an excellent turn out of riders for Robin Johnson's May Day Multi 10 Monday.

Entries were up considerably from last year with 6 Ladies and 3 tandems adding to the Medium Gear, Hub Gear, 'Bling' 10 and Road bikes. The morning finished with the 'traditional' hilly 10 which finishes with a climb up Steyning Bostal. Dave French of Weybridge Wheelers claimed 1st place on the Medium Gear (72") opener with 25:00. Mark Silver of Hounslow and District Wheelers edged French out of a double win to claim the Hub Gear event with 25:33.

The flat bling 10 went to Nick Dwyer of Lewes Wanderers with 20:58, narrowly beating Pete Tadros by 3 seconds. Iain Brogden of Eastbourne Rovers was 3rd with 21:44.

Hosts Brighton Mitre claimed the ladies event with Claire Leonard first on 26:25 and Tamar Vanderhass 3rd with 28:15. Sarah Dwyer of Lewes Wanderers was 2nd on 27:24, with mum K aye 4th 30:37. Having already done a solo turn in the hub gear event Dave Eccles teamed up with Jon Frost to give Redmon CC the tandem win with 23:24. The last of the flat events was the Road Bikes or Athletes 10. Tim Stevens (34 Nomads) was the class of the field, his winning time of 23:21 almost two minutes clear of second place man Colin Hathaway of Old Portlians CC (25:05).

The final event was the hilly 10 on GS/995. This is essentially a 8.5 mile flat warm up for a 1.5 mile hill climb up Steyning Bostal.

Pete Tadros was untouchable with a new course record 24:14, 1:24 clear of 2nd place Ian Brogden. 3rd place went to Rob Pelham of Lewes Wanderers with 25:52. Tadros changed bikes at the bottom of the hill, moving from his PlanetX fixed to a geared bike. Is this the way to tackle this event in future?

			Actual Time
Me	edium Gear 72" 10		
1	David French	Weybridge Wheelers	00:25:00
2	Mike Marchant	Southdown Velo	00:25:25
3	Oliver Tuckley	Lewes Wanderers	00:26:01
4	Robin Johnson	Brighton Mitre CC	00:30:06
5	Jon Frost	Redmon CC	00:31:48
6	Hugh Procter	Lewes Wanderers	DNS
Hub	Gear (Tin Can) 10		
_			
1	Mark Silver	Hounslow & District Wheelers	00:25:33
2	David French	Weybridge Wheelers	00:25:45
3	David Eccles	Redmon CC	00:26:41
4	Clive Walton	Redmon CC	00:29:06
5	Adam Pride	National Clarion CC	00:32:29
6	Adrian Hills	Lewes Wanderers	00:34:03
7	Minoru Mitsumoto	Farnborough & Camberley CC	DNS
TI	he flat "Bling" 10		
	no nat Bing 10		
1	Nick Dwyer	Lewes Wanderers	00:20:58
2	Pete Tadros	In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp	00:21:01
3	lain Brogden	Eastbourne Rovers CC	00:21:44
4	Rob Pelham	Lewes Wanderers	00:21:45
5	Mike Coyle	Brighton Mitre CC	00:22:08
6	James Ryan	Lewes Wanderers	00:22:08
7	Christian Yates	East Grinstead CC	00:22:19
8	lan Burgess	In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp	00:22:24
9	Mark Paton	Sussex Nomads	00:22:44
10	Tom Glandfield	Lewes Wanderers	00:22:58
11	James Brickell	In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp	00:23:27
12	Paul Thatcher	Brighton Mitre CC	00:23:35
13	Richard Weatherstone	GS Stella	00:23:38
14	Chris Chapman	Hastings & St Leonards CC	00:24:16
15	Don Parker	Brighton Mitre CC	00:24:20
16	Geof Smith	Sussex Nomads	00:24:27
17	Peter Moon	Eastbourne Rovers CC	00:24:37
18	Ade Fadero	Sussex Nomads	00:24:42
19	Shaun Jenkinson	East Bradford CC	00:24:57
20	Stuart Edmonds	Sussex Nomads	00:25:09
21	Stuart Payne	Central Sussex CC	00:25:25
22	Adrew Ridsdale	Huddersfield RC	00:25:30
23	Paul Tunnell	Addiscombe CC	00:25:34
24	Paul Valks	Sussex Nomads	00:26:04
25	Reade Harfield	SouthDowns Bike CC	00:26:14
26	Bob Donington	Clarence Wheelers CC	00:26:55
27	Kevin Burton	Eastbourne Rovers CC	00:27:04
28	Dave Cox	Eastbourne Rovers CC	00:27:07
29	Clive Jackson	Central Sussex CC	00:27:18
30	Dave Dalziel	Cebtral Sussex CC	00:31:55
31	Hans Neeser	Epsom CC	00:31:56
32	Michael Valks	Sussex Nomads	DNS
33	Mark Haylett	Team Specialized	DNS
34	Stuart Tarry	Team Sanjan Design	DNS
35	lan Leeding	Redhill CC	DNS
36	Nigel Stevens	Team Coridori	DNS
37	Harry Featherstone	Eastbourne Rovers CC	DNS

Eastbourne Rovers CC

Brighton Mitre CC

DNS

DNS

37

38

Harry Featherstone

Michael Leonard

inc 3 mins late start

	Ladies 10		
	200.00 10		
1	Claire Leonard	Brighton Mitre CC	00:26:25
2	Sarah Dwyer	Lewes Wanderers	00:27:24
3	Tamar Vanderhaas	Brighton Mitre CC	00:28:15
4	Kaye Dwyer	Lewes Wanderers	00:30:37
5	Caroline Fife	National Clarion CC	00:31:55
6	Lisa Sampson	Steyning AC	00:32:18
	Tandem		
1	David Eccles & Jon Frost	Redmon CC	00:23:24
2	Mark Silver & Clive Walton	Hounslow & District Wheelers + Redmon CC	00:24:17
3	Andrew Smith & Dave	GS Stella	DNF
•	Abbott	20 20014	2141
Road	bikes 10 (no tri bars)		
	,		
1	Tim Stevens	34 Nomads CC	00:23:21
2	Colin Hathaway	Old Portlians CC	00:25:05
3	Martyn Potter	Brighton Mitre CC	00:25:14
4	Jay Chisnall	Brighton Mitre CC	00:25:15
5	Samuel Ramsey	Lewes Wanderers	00:25:39
6	lan McLaren	Lewes Wanderers	00:26:19
7	Carl Richardson	In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp	00:26:21
8	Barry Packman	VC Meudon	00:26:40
9	Rob Fuller	Brighton Mitre CC	00:26:46
10	Andrew Green	Old Portlians CC	00:26:58
11	Stuart Fahey	Brighton Mitre CC	DNS
12	Phillip Allen	Brighton Mitre CC	DNS
	Hilly 10 (GS/995)		
1	Peter Tadros	In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp	00:24:14
2	lain Brogden	Eastbourne Rovers CC	00:25:38
3	Rob Pelham	Lewes Wanderers	00:25:52
4	James Ryan	Lewes Wanderers	00:26:43
5	Sholto Haggart	Brighton Mitre CC	00:26:49
6	Tom Glanfield	Lewes Wanderers	00:27:06
7	Tristan Court	Brighton Mitre CC	00:28:01
8	Johan Stegers	Lewes Wanderers	00:28:03
		Brighton Mitre CC	00:28:37
9	Paul Thatcher	3	
9 10	Paul Thatcher Don Parker	Brighton Mitre CC	00:28:55
		· ·	00:28:55 00:29:14
10	Don Parker	Brighton Mitre CC	
10 11 12 13	Don Parker Geoff Smith	Brighton Mitre CC Sussex Nomads	00:29:14 00:30:47 00:31:14
10 11 12	Don Parker Geoff Smith Simon Jenkinson	Brighton Mitre CC Sussex Nomads East Bradford CC	00:29:14 00:30:47