

Sussex Cyclists' Association



ESTABLISHED 1921

Event Report



ESCA 100

Sunday 5 July 2009

Dave Shepherd of Liphook Cycles took the ESCA 100 on Sunday with 4:04:19.

Riding his first 100, Iain Brogden of Eastbourne Rovers continued his excellent form to claim second spot with a superb 4:05:45.

Ben Ward of Kent Cycles RC claimed 3rd spot with 4:09:18, James Hughes (BEC CC) was 4th and Ward's club mate Alex Fairman rounded out the top 5.

Fielding the largest club entry, Lewes Wanderers claimed the team prize with Mark Winton, Andy Cox and Nick Dwyer doing the honours.

In the Ladies competition, Sarah Lovelock of Bodyworks XTC Tr Store was fastest with an excellent 4:33:54, with 2nd spot going to Bronwen Ewing of Rye Wheelers. Those placings were reversed in the Handicap Competiton which saw Andy Cox pick up another prize for 3rd fastest on handicap.

Dave Shepherd claimed fastest vet on standard with Geoff Smith of Sussex Nomads on 2nd and an on form Alan Lloyd of Lewes Wanderers 3rd.





100 Mile Time Trial – Sunday 05 July 2009 – Course G100/86E (2009)

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their rules and regulations

Promoter: Bob Harber (Brighton Excelsior) E-mail: bikerider@phonecoop.coop

Official Timekeepers	Mick Kilby (Lewes Wanderers) & Su Balcombe (Brighton Excelsior)
Handicapper	Mick Kilby (Lewes Wanderers)
Pushing Off	George Taylor
Marshals & Helpers	

Refreshments

Colette Harber

The Prize Winners

Fastest	Overall	Club	Time	Prize
1st	David SHEPHERD	Liphook Cycles RT	4:04:19	£40.00
2nd	lain BROGDEN	Eastbourne Rovers	4:05:45	£25.00
3rd	Ben WARD	Kent Cycles RC	4:09:18	£20.00
4th	James HUGHES	Bec CC	4:13:58	£15.00
5th	Alex FAIRMAN	Kent Cycles RC	4:15:12	£12.00

Fastest on Handicap			Club	H'cap Time	Prize
	1st	Bronwen EWING	Rye Wheelers	3:39:00	£18.00
	2nd	Sarah LOVELOCK	Bodyworks XTC Tri Store	3:49:54	£15.00
	3rd	Andy COX	Lewes Wanderers	3:50:59	£12.00

Fastest \	/et on Std	Club	Plus	Prize
1st	David SHEPHERD	Liphook Cycles RT	+ 1:07:50	£18.00
2nd	Geoff SMITH	Sussex Nomads	+ 1:03:36	£15.00
3rd	Alan LLOYD	Lewes Wanderers	+ 0:50:23	£12.00

Fastest l	ady	Club	Time	Prize	
1st	Sarah LOVELOCK	Bodyworks XTC Tri Store	4:33:54	£15.00	
2nd	Bronwen EWING	Rye Wheelers	4:35:00	£12.00	

Fastest Team of 3		Club	Time	Prize	
	Mark WINTON	Lewes Wanderers	4:20:58	£12.00	
1st	Andy COX	Lewes Wanderers	4:23:59	£12.00	
	Nick DWYER	Lewes Wanderers	4:30:00	£12.00	
			13:14:57		



East Sussex Cycling Association

2009 President Mike Cross, Horsham Cycling



100 Mile Time Trial – Sunday 05 July 2009 – Course G100/86E (2009)

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their rules and regulations

Pos	Start No	Name	Club	Cat	46 mile Split	Actual Time		H'cap Time	Pos on H'cap		Plus on Std	Pos on Std
1	46	David SHEPHERD	Liphook Cycles RT	v	1:50:32	4:04:19		4:04:19	14	-	+ 1:07:50	1
2	22	lain BROGDEN	Eastbourne Rovers	v	1:49:28	4:05:45		3:53:45	5		+ 0:48:17	5
3	30	Ben WARD	Kent Cycles RC	S	1:58:07	4:09:18	*	4:04:18	13		-	-
4	40	James HUGHES	Bec CC	S	1:52:06	4:13:58		4:07:58	19		-	-
5	38	Alex FAIRMAN	Kent Cycles RC	S	1:52:13	4:15:12		3:51:12	4		-	-
6	28	Stephen MORGAN	Tooting BC	v	1:58:03	4:19:32		4:01:32	11		+ 0:36:42	9
7	26	Mark WINTON	Lewes Wanderers	S	2:00:05	4:20:58		4:08:58	20		-	-
8	15	Simon UNDERWOOD	СС Торр	S	1:54:22	4:22:24		3:58:24	10		-	-
9	42	Andy COX	Lewes Wanderers	S	1:57:35	4:23:59		3:50:59	3		-	-
10	32	Duncan MURDOCH	Redhill CC	V	1:58:58	4:28:43		4:05:43	16	-	+ 0:38:50	8
11	34	Nick DWYER	Lewes Wanderers	V	2:00:01	4:30:00		4:14:00	22	-	+ 0:35:15	10
12	10	Peter BAKER	Lewes Wanderers	v	2:02:49	4:33:34		3:54:34	6	-	+ 0:45:38	6
13	11	Sarah LOVELOCK	Bodyworks XTC Tri Store	WS	2:02:34	4:33:54		3:49:54	2		-	-
14	9	Bronwen EWING	Rye Wheelers	wv	2:01:58	4:35:00		3:39:00	1	-	+ 0:44:12	7
15	16	Geoff SMITH	Sussex Nomads	V	2:01:55	4:35:12		4:05:12	15	-	+ 1:03:36	2
16	7	James FULLER	Bournemouth Jubilee CC	v	2:03:12	4:39:36		3:56:36	8	-	+ 0:30:15	12
17	19	Mike LEVETT	Lewes Wanderers	v	2:04:00	4:40:16		4:04:16	12	-	+ 0:48:35	4
18	12	Alan LLOYD	Lewes Wanderers	v	2:03:08	4:43:22		3:57:22	9	-	+ 0:50:23	3
19	14	Ann SHUTTLEWORTH	Chelmer CC	wv	2:10:41	4:54:54		3:54:54	7	-	+ 0:21:55	13
20	8	Hugh PROCTER	Lewes Wanderers	v	2:12:57	4:56:16		4:06:16	17	-	+ 0:35:02	11
21	2	Chris PARKER	Hastings & St L CC	v	2:21:57	5:27:38		4:11:38	21	-	- 0:03:41	15
22	1	Simon YATES	Lewes Wanderers	v	2:24:15	5:34:28		4:06:28	18	-	- 0:00:43	14
23	4	Carmen KUBISA	Rye Wheelers	WS	2:33:30	6:35:08		5:01:08	23		-	-
-	36	Peter MOON	Eastbourne Rovers	V	1:55:34	DNF		-	-		-	-
-	18	Barry CHARLTON	Kent Cycles RC	v	2:00:03	DNF		-	-		-	-
-	3	Jim HOLLANDS	Rye Wheelers	v	2:31:06	DNF		-	-		-	-
-	5	Tony MURPHY	Eastbourne Rovers	v	-	DNF]	-	-		-	-
-	24	Mike ANTON	East Grinstead CC	v	-	DNF		-	-		-	-
-	6	David MACKEY	Kent Cycles RC	S	-	DNS (A)]	-	-		-	-
-	13	Bryn TULLY	Anerley BC	v	-	DNS (A)]	-	-		-	-
-	17	Oliver TUCKLEY	Lewes Wanderers	v	-	DNS (A)]	-	-		-	-
-	20	Ralph MULLAN	Shaftesbury CC	S	-	DNS (A)]	-	-		-	-
-	44	Mark GIDNEY	34 Nomads	v	-	DNS (A)	1	-	-		-	-

Ben WARD – Includes 1min 50sec late start

Fastest Rider from an ESCA affiliated club – 100 mile Cup

lain Brogden, Eastbourne Rovers

Fastest Team from an ESCA affiliated club – 100 mile Team Shield

Lewes Wanderers, Mark Winton, Andy Cox and Nick Dwyer



East Sussex Cycling Association 2009 President Mike Cross, Horsham Cycling



100 Mile Time Trial – Sunday 05 July 2009 – Course G100/86E (2009)

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their rules and regulations

2009 points competition – ESCA points awarded for this event:

Individual Points					329
Rider	Club	Cat	Time	Rank	Points
lain BROGDEN	Eastbourne Rovers	V	4:05:45	1	30
Mark WINTON	Lewes Wanderers	S	4:20:58	2	29
Andy COX	Lewes Wanderers	S	4:23:59	3	28
Nick DWYER	Lewes Wanderers	V	4:30:00	4	27
Peter BAKER	Lewes Wanderers	V	4:33:34	5	26
Sarah LOVELOCK	Bodyworks XTC Tri Store	WS	4:33:54	6	25
Bronwen EWING	Rye Wheelers	WV	4:35:00	7	24
Geoff SMITH	Sussex Nomads	V	4:35:12	8	23
Mike LEVETT	Lewes Wanderers	V	4:40:16	9	22
Alan LLOYD	Lewes Wanderers	V	4:43:22	10	21
Hugh PROCTER	Lewes Wanderers	V	4:56:16	11	20
Chris PARKER	Hastings & St L CC	V	5:27:38	12	19
Simon YATES	Lewes Wanderers	V	5:34:28	13	18
Carmen KUBISA	Rye Wheelers	WS	6:35:08	14	17

Club Points	329
Club	Points
Lewes Wanderers	191
Rye Wheelers	41
Eastbourne Rovers	30
Bodyworks XTC Tri Store	25
Sussex Nomads	23
Hastings & St L CC	19
In-Gear Quickvit RT	0
VC In-Gear	0
Bayeux Landscapes	0
In-Gear Dev Squad	0
Brighton Mitre	0
Brighton Excelsior	0
East Grinstead CC	0
21st Century Airports CT	0
Central Sussex CC	0
Crawley CC	0
Crawley Wheelers	0
East Grinstead TC	0
GS Stella	0
Horsham Cycling	0
Southborough Wheelers	0
VTTA (Surrey/Sussex)	0
Worthing Excelsior	0

Don't forget forthcoming ESCA events:

Saturday 12 Sep 2009 *	Distance: 10 m – Time Trial Event HQ: East Hoathly Sports Centre	Course: G10/87 Entry Fee: £8.00
Promoter:	John Double (Crawley Wheelers) 1B Climping Park, Bognor Road, Littlehampton, Telephone: 01903 734837 E-mail: john.do	West Sussex BN17 5DW puble@crawleywheelers.co.uk
Sunday 13 Sep 2009 *	nday 13 Sep 2009 * Distance: 25 m – Time Trial Event HQ: Fairwarp Village Hall	
Promoter:	Richard Blackmore (East Grinstead CC) Ladymead, Snowhill, Crawley Down, West Suss Telephone: 01342 713272 E-mail: dicknja	