

P901/50 Event 24th July 2016 *Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations*

COURSE NUMBER: P901/50 Distance: 50 Miles Short Description: Fontwell / Westhampnett/ Arundel/ Westhampnett/ Arundel/ Tangmere/ Fontwell - A27

Officials

Timekeepers Mike Marchant (SDV) Recorder John Rowland's Event Secretary John Banham, 14 M'tongue Ave, Bosham, Chichester West Sussex, PO18 8LB, Tel 07970 884473, email; jgbanham@sky.com

Awards

First Fastest £30 Second Fastest £20 Third Fastest £10 Fastest Lady £10 Fastest Youth £10

FULL COURSE DESCRIPTION

START in Lay-by on A27 at North end of Fontwell Race Course at Drain Cover approximately 20 yards west of Lamp Post 181/08 (SU 947072).

PROCEED west along A27 to Tangmere RAB where straight across to continue on A27. Take slip road up Tangmere Flyover on A285 to South RAB. Turn RIGHT, 2nd Exit, to cross the flyover to North RAB. Take I" Exit and continue north on A285 for 500 yards to Temple Bar. Turn LEFT on to an unclassified road to Westhampnett RAB (5.1 Miles) (SU 877060).

Take 1st Exit on to old A27 to Portfield RAB where take 1st Exit on to A27 Westhampnett By-pass and proceed under Tangmere Flyover to Tangmere RAB where straight across to continue on A27 to Fontwell West RAB. (10.2 Miles) (SU 950071)

Take 1st Exit to Fontwell East RAB where take 2nd Exit to stay on A27 to Arundel West RAB where take 3rd Exit to stay on A27 to Arundel East RAB at eastern end of Arundel By-pass where: TURN (15.1 Miles) (TQ 022066).

RETRACE on A27 through START back to Tangmere Flyover to take slip road A285 up to South RAB (23.4 Miles) (SU 896066). Turn RIGHT, 2nd Exit, and repeat circuit, via Temple Bar, Westhampnett RAB Portfield RAB and the A27 to Arundel East RAB where: TURN (35.1 Miles) (TQ 022066)

RETRACE on A27 through START to South RAB at Tangmere Flyover. Take 2nd Exit as before, and repeat loop via Temple Bar, Westhampnett RAB, Portfield RAB and the A27, under Tangmere Flyover to Tangmere RAB where take 2nd Exit, straight across, to continue on A27 to:

FINISH 3 yards EAST of traffic sign "Reduce Speed Now" or 56 yards EAST of Littleheath Road and approximately 350 yards short of the START (50 Miles) (SU 944072)

EVENT HEADQUARTERS

Aldingbourne Community Sports Centre (open from 0545)

SAFE ROUTES TO START

The safe route from the Aldingbourne Community Sports Centre is turn left on to the A29 and proceed north via Westergate Street, Nyton Road and Fontwell Avenue.

SAFE ROUTES FROM FINISH

The safe route back to Aldingbourne Community Sports Centre is to take the first exit at Fontwell West RAB after the FINISH to stay on A27. Then turn 1st

LEFT into Duke's Road and immediately LEFT again to take the subway under the A27 to London Road to approach Fontwell West RAB from the East. Turn LEFT and retrace to the Headquarters on the A29 via Fontwell Avenue, Nyton Road and Westergate Street. If riders do not wish to use the subway then they must still turn LEFT at Fontwell West RAB and proceed to Fontwell East RAB and encircle to retrace to Fontwell West RAB.

Any rider turning RIGHT at Fontwell West RAB to the leave the A27 in either a Club Event or an Open Event MUST be disqualified

SAFETY INSTRUCTIONS

Riders must:

 \cdot not cross the A27 in the Start and Finish areas

 \cdot use the recommended safe routes to the Start and to return to the Headquarters

- \cdot not warm up on the Course
- \cdot exercise care at the following locations
- crossing Tangmere RAB both ways
- turning LEFT at Temple Bar. Caution 150-degree change of direction
- passing exit and acceleration lanes at Tangmere Flyover
- descending Hospital Hill to roundabout TURN at Arundel West RAB
- negotiating all roundabouts particularly at Fontwell and Arundel
- passing all acceleration lanes from "B" and unclassified roads joining the A 27

 \cdot not turn RIGHT at Fontwell West RAB after the FINISH but should continue on A27 to turn LEFT into Duke's Road to return to the Event Headquarters. -not make U-turns in the vicinity of the Start or Finish

Any rider observed riding in a manner which may jeopardise his or her own safety, the safety of others and the future of the Sport should be disqualified and reported to the South District Council of Cycling Time Trials. Observers may be in attendance along the course.

Hard Shell

"All competitors in this event are required to wear HARD SHELL HELMETS, which should meet an internationally accepted safety standard".

SAFETY REAR LIGHTS

"In the interests of your Own Safety, Cycling Time Trials and the Event Promoters strongly advise competitors that a working rear light, either flashing or fixed, is fitted to your machine in a position clearly visible to following road users and is active while the machine is I use". This is to alert motorists to the competitor's presence on the highway and give them time to make driving alterations if necessary.

				START
NO.	NAME	CLUB	CAT	TIME
1	Debbie Smith	SDV	FV41	7.01
2	David Powis	Dorking Cycling Club	S37	7.02
3	Martin Whitty	a3crg	v48	7.03
4	John Marinko	Brighton Mitre CC	V51	7.04
		Royal Navy and royal Marines		
5	Lenny Brown	CA	V46	7.05
6	Chris Maguire	HRCC	V53	7.06
7	Andrew Haste	Worthing Excelsior	V45	7.07
8	David England	Crabwood CC	V73	7.08
9	Rick Hughes	Worthing Excelsior	V53	7.09
10	Howard Bayley	Blazing Saddles	V41	7.10
11	Sophie Needham	HRCC	FS30	7.11
12	James Horan	Southdowns Bikes	V46	7.12
13	Tom Bertenshaw	Eastbourne Rovers	S36	7.13
14	lan Cheesman	Worthing Excelsior	V47	7.14
15	Michael Davey	Eastbourne Rovers	S38	7.15
16	Alan Emmott	Fareham Wheelers	V69	7.16
17	Donald Parker	Brighton Mitre CC	V67	7.17
18	Nigal Sign	Fareham Wheelers	V59	7.18
19	Leon Fielding	a3crg	V40	7.19
20	Aarn Stanton	Fareham Wheelers	V48	7.20
21	Mark Trimmer	SDV	V54	7.21
22	Angus Fileman	Fareham Wheelers	V53	7.22
23	Arthur Waghorn	BRCC	V57	7.23
24	Jon Fry	Horsham Cycling	V45	7.24
25	Jay Hookins	Offcamber	S34	7.25
26	Laura Bartlett	a3crg	FS33	7.26
27	Craig Wallington	Andover Wheelers	S35	7.27
28	Rob Sherrin	a3crg	V48	7.28
29	Tom Foot	Blazing Saddles	S30	7.29
30	Andy Smith	Fareham Wheelers	V42	7.30
31	Rob Stephenson	Southborough & Dist	V44	7.31
32	Trevor Leeding	Worthing Excelsior	V50	7.32
33	Peter Hooper	Eastbourne Rovers	S31	7.33
		Royal Navy and Royal Marines		
34	Jerry Bromyard	СА	V62	7.34
35	Hamish Walker	Blazzing Saddles	V44	7.35
36	Den Tapping	HRCC	V59	7.36
37	Shaun Smart	SDV	V52	7.37
38	Phil Wilks	Sotonia CC	S34	7.38
39	David Dalton	Fareham Wheelers	V50	7.39
40	Stephen Williamson	a3crg	V45	7.40